TOLL FREE: 1-800-594-5115 | SHOWROOM HOURS: Mon-Thur 10-6, Fri 10-8, Sat 10-6 CST
Search Site

Now Open! ... New mini-showroom located in the Old Mill Shoppes in Historic Downtown Lemont, IL

Testimonials

Profile image
I first heard about Oakridge Hobbies & Toys at the Lisle Eyes To The Sky Festival. They had a booth there where they were offering free children's crafts and face painting. There was quite a line for the face painting because other booths were charging and they were doing it for free. My kids wanted their faces painted so I waited in line while they did the free crafts. A nice young man gave me a coupon to their store as I waited.
I didn't think much of it until two weeks later when I had to get a birthday present for one of my son's friends. So I took the coupon and decided to give Oakridge Hobbies & Toys a shot.
From the outside, the store doesn't look really big but once you're inside, you'll be suprised! There are a bunch of large stuffed jungle animals at the front and around the top ready to greet you after you walk in. Around the store are also different fun props and things that make it sort of like FAO Shwartz. My sons loved the electric train that chugs above and around the store. They chased it and followed it for a few laps.
Oakridge has a lot of different things that you don't find in the toy aisle at Target or ToysRUs. If you want something other than plastic toys like Barbies and GIJoe you should definately check them out. They've got a nice selection of brands like Melissa and Doug, Playmobil, Lego and Kidoozie. There's toys I remember when I was young like Sockem Boppers, Ant farms and Voice Changers. There's plenty of other toys and gifts that I haven't seen before. I was taking mental notes for Christmas because it comes sooner than you think.
The back of the store is a hobby shop. They have slot race car sets, trains, model kits, chemistry sets and remote control cars. My two sons had a lot of fun playing on the race track they had set up in the back of the store (another Christmas mental note). They also had a computer RC plane simulator that you can practice flying before you buy a plane or helicopter. My kids and I crashed way too much! It was fun. Maybe in a few years!
We settled on a Batman Lego Juniors set for the gift and some of these small metal laser cut airplane kits for me and my sons to build at home. The lady behind at checkout was very friendly and offered to wrap our gift for free. Saves me from buying wrapping paper and doing it myself.
Overall it was a great trip to a very nice store. I've got a bunch of new ideas for possible Christmas presents for my two boys and I'm definately telling Grandma about Oakridge for her future shopping. ANTHONY B. Lisle, IL ANTHONY B.
Rating
Placed on May 10, 2016
Profile image
A great toy store, especially for younger children.
 DAVE D. Darien, IL DAVE D.
Rating
Placed on May 10, 2016
Profile image
I went to their store today to get more parts and they pointed out that my gear mesh on my truck was too close. THey showed me how to correctly put the spur gear on and I bought other parts, too. That is service that you can't get online which is why i shop here. JAKE M. Bolingbrook, IL JAKE M.
Rating
Placed on May 10, 2016
Profile image
I have been visiting this store for many years, since they were at their older location. I really like their new store better. It's brighter, it's much cleaner and there is more selection. They have many, many different puzzles from lots of different brands. They have a good amount of the harder to find large format piece puzzles. These large format pieces are great to do with children and especially the elderly because they are easier to see and more importantly, the pieces are easier to grab and handle.
The staff was friendly and upbeat. They checked on me several times while I browsed to see if I was doing ok.
When checking out, they even offered to wrap my purchase, which I declined because it was for myself and not a gift. But it is worth noting that they do wrap, because it always comes in handy when there is that last minute gift to buy.
I would definitely recommend this store to anyone in the area! ROYCE W. Chicago, IL ROYCE W.
Rating
Placed on May 10, 2016
Profile image
I have a Traxxas Rustler and they stock a lot of Traxxas items plus some upgrades. They always seem to have the parts I need for my truck when I come in for them. I just bring in my broken truck and they figure out what parts I need. Their staff is friendly. MATT J. Bolingbrook, IL MATT J.
Rating
Placed on May 10, 2016
Profile image
I was looking for a gift for my husband and thought about getting him a remote control car. Now, I don't know anything about RC cars, but Ed was an excellent salesman. He was very knowledgeable and gave me assurance that my husband would enjoy the Traxxas Stampede. So I bought it and my husband loves it. We have been back many times for parts. "My husbands car is attracted to mailboxes" :-) but that comes with the hobby.
Not only do they have stuff for adults; they also have a great selection of toys and crafts for younger kids too. I had to buy a gift for my 9 year old niece. Bernie made my shopping experience fun and quick. The best thing is that I didn't spend a fortune. Their prices are very competitive to other stores and some times they are lower!
The one thing that really that sets this place apart from any other is their customer service. The employees are very friendly and approachable. They know about the product they sell. All they guys at the RC counter know what they are talking about. We all know someone who has everything. The ladies at the front always helped me find something different and unique.
If you are going to shop anywhere, Oakridge is a wonderful place to go. ESTER K. Darien, IL ESTER K.
Rating
Placed on May 10, 2016
Profile image
I came to Oakridge to purchase a dollhouse building kit. My plan was to find a medium-sized Victorian mansion. While I did not find my miniature dream home, I did find useful dollhouse pieces and craft projects.
First, I will provide an overview of the dollhouse merchandise. All sections are clearly marked overhead, so locating it was simple. In the dollhouse section, I first noticed at least four large previously constructed dollhouses. A sign indicated the store would assemble them for customers. I also discovered two huge dollhouse, do-it-yourself kits, but I could not locate prices. The employees were friendly and visible, so I could have asked someone if interested.
What impressed me most about the dollhouse section was the furnishings. Miniaturists can purchase entire room sets. Also, shingles, light fixtures, individual furniture pieces, and dolls are for sale. The items all seemed to be high quality.
In general, I think this a useful store for miniaturists and other model builders. In addition to the dollhouse hobby, there are sections for model railroads, cars, and ships. Artists will also find lots of paint-by-number kits here. This seems to be a specialty store for those who enjoy model building, crafts, and puzzles. You will also find more generic toys that could be found elsewhere.
I recommend a visit to this hobby and toy store for its large selection of models and dollhouse equipment. Note that credit cards are not accepted for purchases under $5.00. JO R. Westmont, IL JO R.
Rating
Placed on May 10, 2016
Profile image
Took my kids up there last Wed. They block off the parking lot on Wed from 6 to 9 for open R.C. Car driving. It was nice to see how the adults had no problems with an 8 or 10 yr old driving next to them. The staff was really friendly as they always are when I'm there. Whats really nice is the staff is out there driving their own cars too. I do wish they had a larger selection of bodies and tires, but they will order anything you need and it comes in pretty quick. But overall the new store is so much nicer then the old one. Great job Oakridge!! RICK Z. Woodridge, IL RICK Z.
Rating
Placed on May 10, 2016
Profile image
Great store, friendly service, great prices. Highly recommend!!! HECTOR M. Lombard, IL HECTOR M.
Rating
Placed on May 10, 2016
Profile image
Im in the process of rehabbing my daughter's much loved dollhouse and fitting it with electrical, all new decor, and all new doors and windows. Between the store and the website I'll have access to everything I need! The store is awesome and will definitely be my go to toy store from now on. Lots of unique toys that cant be found at big box stores. MIRANDA Y. Brookfield, IL MIRANDA Y.
Rating
Placed on May 10, 2016